Frequently Asked Questions
Q. How do I save a Visual Workflow?
A. Triggers and Filters are saved automatically once they are added to the visual workflow. Action groups do not save automatically. To save an action group, simply click the disc icon that appears on the topmost action of that action group while you are editing.
Q. What is an action group?
A. Action groups are the actions or events scheduled against a lead. These actions can be grouped together to allow for repeated use, without having to recreate the entire group.
Q. Will my visual workflows and action groups display in the normal Task/Action Group pages, and vice versa?
A. Visual workflows will remain separate from the pre-existing tasks and action groups. These will not be accessible on the same page. To navigate to visual workflows, hover over Automation on the toolbar and click Visual Workflows.
Q. How does the legacy system and the new system interact?
A. The new visual workflow builder is based on the same automation rules engine used by the legacy system. The legacy system is still functional, and you can continue to build workflows in this method if you so choose. At this time, time-based action groups can only be created in the legacy system.
Impact on Pre-existing Action Groups
Q. What happens to all of my pre-existing action groups?
A. Your existing action groups are fully accessible, and you can continue to build action groups in the previous method if that is your preference. Existing action groups can also be added to any visual workflow.
Q. What does adding multiple triggers do? Does it function as an "or" condition?
A. Adding multiple triggers implies "or" logic between the triggers. The option for "and" triggers is not available in the visual workflow builder. Instead, use a single, more generic trigger combined with filters to create unique communication branches.
Q. How do I make changes outside of an action group?
A. The action group must be saved prior to making any changes outside of the action group.
Q. Can I rename the branches in my visual workflow?
A. Yes. To rename the branch, simply click on the green bar above your action group and type in a new name. To save, click the disc icon.
Q. Can I start a visual workflow with multiple triggers?
A. Yes, however, it is important to note that these triggers will be evaluated as an "or" condition. Meaning a lead could fulfill trigger A OR trigger B OR trigger C, be added to an action group. If you would like to learn more about how to create unique paths based on what a user does or does not do, review the helpdesk article Understanding Visual Workflow Branching.
Q. How can I see how far a lead is in a visual workflow?
A. On the memberships tab of the lead record, the visual workflow name will display followed by the name of the specific branch a lead has taken part in. You can see aggregate usage, including the last time the visual workflow ran, on the main visual workflows page.
Q. How do time delays work in visual workflows?
A. Time delays in the visual workflow builder are structured around the timing of the prior event. The visual workflow builder does not use "from start" time delays. When adding time delays to a visual workflow, that delay is timing iterative from the previous event.